Hostforweb issues anyone?

I have been using Hostforweb for quite a few years now and they have been great. 

However lately there have been some major issues and I am wondering if it is a temporary glitch and that they will soon return to their previous good form, or may not?

Is anyone else having troubles?

Quote · 2 Jan 2018

What kind of issues?

BoonEx Certified Host: Zarconia.net - Fully Supported Shared and Dedicated for Dolphin
Quote · 3 Jan 2018

I have a managed dedicated server with hostforweb. The site went down around the 30th December but they did not notice until I noticed it on the 2nd of January and told them myself.

The IP address does not resolve to the URL.

If I ping the site URL  it cannot find the host. If I tracert to the URL it says unable to resolve to the target system name.

They seem to be having trouble fixing this whereas in the past, they have been excellent and fixed every issue with great speed. I have been using Hostforweb for years now.

Something has changed over there. 

Quote · 3 Jan 2018

HostForWeb is in trouble.  Yikes!  They've had issues since around the 24th about the time they announced a forced IP Address change for all their customers.  My sites have stayed up for the most part but getting into WHM and cPanel is iffy.  I looked at their FB page and people are really angry, threatening a class action lawsuit already.

I've been with them about 12yrs and I've only had a handful of relatively minor issues all this time but this one is a big one.  So, backup your database and your files as soon as you can get into WHM to do so!  

Don't want to leave them, I'm loyal to a fault but it 'feels' like they are running on a skeleton crew.  They may be on shaky business open ground?  I don't know that. It could be they just have experienced a catastrophic failure cascade and everyone is working hard to fix it.  Either way, there are a LOT of websites down evidently.

Good luck!

Quote · 3 Jan 2018