Customization of Site

Hi,

I am a complete beginner to building a social network.  I'm eager to learn, but don't really know where to start.  I have a trial of DolphinPro right now and have selected the EVO template.  I want to understand how to make changes to the way the site looks.  I understand how to add the different blocks, but not how to change the appearance (font, color, background image etc).  Can anyone point me to a good place to get this information?  I'm eager to learn and want to understand what I'm doing.

Thanks,

Lynne

Quote · 22 Mar 2016

I would start with https://www.boonex.com/trac/dolphin/wiki/TutorialHowToPersonalizeYourDolphinSite 

Some of it good, some bad, some out of date.

highartsculptures.com.....your favorite new site
Quote · 22 Mar 2016

Try installing the Site Customizer Module but please don't ask me how to use it? I tried it once and it was okay for a few changes, but now I do everything manually. That's a bit of a learning curve.

Quote · 23 Mar 2016

first off - here are a few key tips to remember. The Element Inspector is your best friend. By default, both chrome and firefox have this ability. To use it, right click anywhere on a webpage - you will get that little popup. Click on "Inspect Element" - this will open up a section - either below or to the right of your webpage - with a whole bunch of stuff.

Second - turn off all caches - in your site admin section - tools - cache - settings - uncheck everything and save.

Third - make a copy of the evo template and rename whatever you want. So, your folder should be something like tmpl_whatever. Then, in the classes/BxTemplName.php file - changeall instances of  "evo" to your new template name - be sure to follow capitalization.