Expressing my frustration!

I have been using Dolphin software for roughly 6 months.  Though I was happy with the most part for the out-of-the box functioning, I wanted to personalize the software.  I found that the add-ons are expensive, but  I paid the creators to make sure that things were installed properly.  Almost nothing that I paid for was every installed properly, but the real kicker is that nearly every time something new was installed, something that was supposed to function stopped working!  Currently, it is the Admin Articles that I can no longer access.

I have never had this problem with other software that I have used.

Though I recognize that Dolphin isn't responsible for 3rd party add-ons, they need to stop allowing advertising for them or become more stringent about it.

I am so frustrated because I don't even know how to begin to fix things.

Kri

Quote · 15 Dec 2008

A part of my own frustration is the fact that every minute modification has a huge price tag on it. Now, I understand that the developers of the modifications would like to be compensated for their work, but many of the price tags are a little outrageous.

Don't get me wrong, the Dolphin programming and the add-ons work very well, but small and easy coding, nor should removing a small advertisement should be worth $20 to $40 a piece.

For example, I also run a pretty huge web forum that is a FREE and completely open source script. It has the majority of the features of all of the forums that you would pay for, but is absolutely free. Also, the mods, add-ons, and even all of the templates are free. I would figure that the authors of the modified script for those modifications just do it for the pride and recognition even when they end up creating mods that require multiple changes in code and installation.

Quote · 16 Dec 2008