Installation problem

Please help!  I'm new to this software and hosting thing.  I have Dolphin installed up to where it asks for my sql database information.  When I enter it, it gives an error "Access denied for user 'username'@localhost (using password: YES).

I have tried many different database names, usernames, and passwords.  They have not worked.

I am using bluehost as my hosting site.

Any help would be much appreciated!!

JC

Quote · 23 May 2008

Switch your domain hosting to ixwebhosting.com

They are brilliant!

Quote · 24 May 2008

Firstly add the user to database.

If you are looking for hosting, I can provide 100% working hosting. http://cpanel.happy-hosting.com

----
Quote · 24 May 2008

Hi,

There are a few things that could be wrong.

1st thing to make sure is that you have created a database and have the correct database name and correct user name and password. If you have to start fresh and create a new database.

2nd thing is that some hosts add their user name to the mix. I use hostforweb and when I joined they gave me a user name. Lets say for example it was "newuser"

Next i went and set up a database. i called it "dolphin1" and I just put "admin" for the username.

Just after i set that up, on teh confirmation screen it told me that my database had been set up and that my database name and user name were as follows -

database name: newuser_dolphin1

user name: newuser_admin

It didnt change my password. So you see the system added the newuser_ bit to my database name and user name and it took me a few attempts before I realised it had done this.

You might want to check and confirm your dtabase and user names before you try again.

Cheers

Max

Quote · 1 Jun 2008

Hi,

There are a few things that could be wrong.

1st thing to make sure is that you have created a database and have the correct database name and correct user name and password. If you have to start fresh and create a new database.