How Bad did HFW mess this up? Tell me please

I'm a newbie here, and maybe I'm expecting a little more from a "Recommended Hosting Company" than I should of.  Here's the story:

Roughly 60 hours ago ordered a VPS-2 from HFW on their site using their system after chatting with the Sales rep, I was told it'd take about 4-6 hours total set up with 24-48 hours domain propagation.  Okay, fair enough.  Here are the issues:

1.  Payment link HFW provided did not exist and delayed 6 hours to get the issue fixed in just paying for this server.  Finally payment is made, finally.

2.  Domain name (we'll call it whateveritis.com) was ordered to have ns1.whateveritis.com and ns1.whateveritis.com  Instead the DNS got pointed to ns41.hostforweb.com and ns42.hostforweb.com Yeah, those resolve real nice.

3.  Try to go for support and find out where my DNS is pointing and why after 24 hours we have no resolve.  I've been around the web long enough to know that rarely does it take over 24 to propagate a domain.  But this one was stubborn. 

4.  As we are trying to discover what is up with the DNS, Ian from Tech support tells me that I'm on a shared server?  Since when did a VPS become a shared server and why is the DNS pointing to a shared server.  Ian never looked up the account even before he made that claim.

5.  Connect via FTP to the server utilizing the IP given.  Begin uploading files.

6.  While waiting for DNS to resolve, utilized the IP to begin the install of a D6 package.  Immediate problem.  All files show writeable, a sure sign that the server is SuPHP enabled.  But why?  It was specifically noted in the instructions when ordering the server to NOT enable SuPHP.  But HFW took it upon themselves to enable it.