best way to clone my site to work on this 7.1

can someone please post clear instructions to clone my site to work on 7.1 while 7.0.9 is live.

do I ftp to my computer the entire /public_html/ and database and then create mysite.com/mysite2?

to most of you this is simple but to some of use it takes alot of thinking lol

Thanks

Quote · 13 Nov 2012

what happens to new members after the clone has been done?

because while im working on 7.1 clone, 7.0.9 is still live getting new members..

a lil confusing for us jr.

Quote · 13 Nov 2012

Hopefully some others will post better instructions as I am a noob to Dolphin.  It depends on the tools you have at your disposal, such as shell access to the server or only ftp access.  Yes, one way would be to ftp down the current installation to move it to a new folder.  You would also want to create a subdomain to point to the clone site.  I am guessing that the .htaccess file might have to be updated.  You would need to create a new database; Dolphin does not allow one to use prefixes; at least no easy way to add them at installation time.  If you have phpMyAdmin you can export the current database using the export feature, choose all tables, and save as file and give it a name.  I have had trouble using phpMyAdmin to import a large database.  If you do have problems, there is a nice little php script that you can use to import the tables into the new database.  Of course you have to point the clone dolphin config files to use the new database.  It may be a bit of work but if you are thinking of upgrading a production site, it is better to do this than risk trashing a production site and have it go down.

Not the best instructions so hopefully you will get some better ones.

Geeks, making the world a better place
Quote · 13 Nov 2012

what happens to new members after the clone has been done?

because while im working on 7.1 clone, 7.0.9 is still live getting new members..

a lil confusing for us jr.