CAUTION! Chat+ server install Plesk on Ubuntu

I had a rather unpleasant experience this weekend installing the Chat+ server on a Ubuntu box with the Plesk control panel.  I followed the instructions posted by AlexT on Github.  After installing the Chat+ Server when I tried to log into the Plesk control panel I was greeted by a 403 error message.  Now I am not a fan of control panels on servers preferring to work as low level as possible which is why I use webmin.  Webmin is simply an interface to the config files; it does not move anything around or hide users from the actual configurations, etc.  Now I know that is not everyone's cup of tea.  Anyway, I knew that Nathan; of the Zarconia team, is versed in the workings of Plesk, I am still learning the control panel.  Nathan was gracious in helping me even though this server is not from Zarconia and he did it without charge.  Thank you again Nathan.

What we found is that the installation of the  'npm' package from the default Ubuntu repo removes Plesk and its packages in order to install.  The result is bye bye control panel.  Even though Plesk was removed along with all accounts, the web server was still up and running and the websites were still up.  I am going to try and repair the Plesk installation and see if the accounts can be recovered.  If not, then they will have to be manually added back.  I talked to the owner of the server if they wanted to continue with Plesk or not.  The problem of course is the downtime if I was to redo the server.

This issue needs to be added to the TOP of the instructions in a warning so that it does not happen to others.

Geeks, making the world a better place
1 Aug 2016

Ouch, now that would be a good idea!

ManOfTeal.COM a Proud UNA site, six years running strong!
1 Aug 2016

Can someone post the proper method to install Chat+ on Plesk with Ubuntu, maybe save someone else a big headache.

1 Aug 2016